Posted by: irishdad | November 23, 2009

It’s Monday…

… so we should really rip out the entire bathroom and get a new one put in.

Yes, it seems we have embarked on an Extreme Nesting project par excellence after last week’s painting of the chimney brest failed to scratch that itchy homing itch.

The pregnancy continues well thankfully, with a sprinkling of sleepless nights and an assortment of cramps and pains for the lady.

The Swine flu vaccine has been upgraded to two doses so Irishmam will be getting the second one again on Friday.  The virus seems to be waning in Ireland – last I heard. I still watch in horror though, as people on the bus put their hands on the bars and then pick their teeth. In this house we’ve been washing our hands as soon as we come in the door and carrying hand gel all the time. I guess when there’s no perceived risk from getting the virus then it’s just not foremost in people’s minds.

I’ve been banged back up to full five-day working weeks for the next while until I leave for the hopeful arrival of the baby.

In other news, Ireland got knocked out of qualification for the soccer world cup next year in South Africa. In spite of a clear and blatant piece of foul play no-one who could make a difference is interested in addressing the issue so it’s just tough shit.

I know it’s only a game, but there’s a huge sense of injustice among the people in Ireland at the moment, which is layered on top of the powerlessness folks feel at the battered state of our ‘economy’. But hey, if I’ve learned anything in the past year it’s that shitty things happen that are beyond your control and are completely unfair…and that’s just that.

I went to see Ireland play Fiji in rugby at the weekend (now there’s an honest game, entirely free of eye-gouging and the odd forward pass :)), and happened to meet a couple of acquaintances who I haven’t seen all year. One of the guys told me how sorry he was to hear about Littlegirl and another emailed me yesterday to express similar sentiments. I was touched that they both acknowledged our loss as I’m sure it would probably seem easier not to mention after almost a year has passed.

Last weekend I did a one day organic gardening course, so there’s an outside chance of plant survival next spring. Broad beans will first up, I’m sure there’s a packet of innocent seeds out there somewhere shaking in their boots.

Finally, I’m delighted that little Angus has arrived for Sally and Simon over on tuesdayshope!

 

Responses

  1. Woah, sounds busy! I hope you get it all done and stress levels stay low.

    I always used to quite respect Thierry but I have to say I feel your injustice and look on him in a new light….

  2. Ach Thierry. And to think he was one of my ‘players’. I support players rather than whole teams, much to the fury of my husband! But in view of this latest . . . he may be off my list.

    So with you on the swine flu thing. It could be bad, bad news for J if she picks it up so we are furiously hand gelling. And the bus riding, teeth pickers. Oh the horror!

    Hope the bathroom goes well and enjoy your gardening course. Broad beans are yummy. Hope that Irishmam keeps well and that the cramps ease up.

  3. Gosh, you must both be on eggshells but it sounds as if the hosp are doing absolutely everything possible. My thoughts are with you for your Littlegirl’s anniversary. Having had 3 miscarriages I can only imagine the pain of a stillbirth.

  4. Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog. I do write another blog but it is more business-related and I’ve been meaning to write one for a while that is purely personal plus one that the neighbours and relations don’t know about!!

    Best of luck to you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

