Posted by: irishdad | September 12, 2009

…and remembering Littlegirl

I was with my bereavement support guy yesterday morning, and one of the things that came up was the difficulty of how to sign off birthday cards for relatives and friends.

Do I mention Littlegirl in the card, or leave her name out? It’s a difficult call as on the one hand I don’t want to deny her her place in the family, but on the other I’m wondering will her name on the card ‘spook’ the recipient.

Bereavement guy had a suggestion that I think is pretty good. He suggested that I sign the car as being from Irishdad, Irishmam, Littleboy and remembering Littlegirl.

I think that this is a compromise that might work for me. She has a place on the card and in our thoughts. We are saying that we haven’t forgotten her. And we won’t.

*****

We’ve had a very welcome indian summer over the last few days, here are some of the good and not so good things to be seen near our home.

Kids drinking and leaving a mess for early morning walkers to encounter

Kids drinking and leaving a mess for early morning walkers to encounter

A still start to a sunny day

A still start to a sunny day

Responses

  1. When I don’t feel I can make direct reference to Abigail I sign cards

    love
    Me, Wife, Son
    xxxx

    Count the x’s, one for each of us. I do this in emails etc. too. Clearly most people don’t pick up on it but it helps me to make the gesture too. I know I am including/involving her in what I am doing.

  2. I think that is a lovely way to sign cards. I also like the “xxxx” in the post above. I didn’t send Christmas cards last year for this very reason….now, I think you’ve given me a way to recognize the boys….Thank you.

    If you have a second, would you check out this post. I know you are greiving but I think you might be able to help Craig and vice versa….

    http://freyja-kees-lovedsomuch.blogspot.com/2009/09/fathers-grief-written-by-craig.html

    • Hi, I only saw the second half of your comment now, I’ll check out your link later on. (I’m on my lunch break now!)

  3. Man, I really really have been trying to figure out a good way to sign cards and especially holiday cards coming up. This is perfect. Thank you so much for writing about this. I’m so sorry to read about your little girl. We lost our girls within weeks of each other…heartbreaking.


Leave a Reply

Categories

