Posted by: irishdad | August 28, 2009

Good times for a change

Three great things:

  • My dad finally got his angiogram today and he got the all clear. No blockages around his heart and blood as pure as the driven snow. That’s a great relief…it has been a long week of waiting around for him so I hope he can go home now and get back to normal.
  • We are having a baby.* I haven’t written about it before but we are, due the first week in January.
    On Wednesday we had a very thorough scan (@ 20 weeks) that found that our baby appears to be developing as expected. We were both so relieved to watch our friendly ultrasounder Linda click on the ‘DEFAULT’ button to auto-fill all of the forms associated with the baby’s vital statistics. Fingers crossed / Inshallah/ please God everything will continue to progress and we’ll get to take the baby home this time.
    It was amazing to see our child kicking away and having a suck on its fingers. It’s a bit like watching a video report from a space shuttle though…the child is effectively a million miles away even though we are all in the same room.
  • We are going on holidays tomorrow for a week to Portugal. The weather here has been miserable all ‘summer’ so I can’t wait to feel warmth and sunshine on my face and spend time with Irishmam and Littleboy. Great fresh fish and world class wine won’t hurt either.

* I hope I don’t sound flippant about having another baby. (Note to self – we don’t have the baby yet)

I know that we are so lucky that we have been able to get pregnant again soon after Littlegirl died. I am aware that this is not the case for many many people out there, so much so that sometimes I feel like a fraud, as if I have a cheek writing a blog when *all* that has happened to us is the loss of a baby….and us already with a healthy lovely little boy in tow! I do know though that nobody should have to go through the experience of losing a baby and that I won’t take even a minute in the life of any child of mine for granted.

Finally, I increasingly suspect that I’ll be coming back to learn that my job is finished, but that’s a bridge I’ll cross in ten days time.

Atlantic waves

Responses

  1. I am glad to hear that your dad is well. I am sure that he is happy to be done with the hospital and tests and such.

    Congrats on the pregnancy! You don’t sound flippant at all. You sound like a scared but happy dad. I will be thinking of you all and sending wishes for a safe and happy pregnancy and delivery.

    Enjoy your holiday!

  2. . . see the luck I’ve had can make a good man turn bad.’

    Glad your dad is well.

    Congratulations to you and Irishmam. Fingers crossed / Inshallah/ please God everything goes well and you have a uneventful, peaceful, happy pregnancy and delivery. You don’t sound flippant and I know that a child afterwards comes with a special type of appreciation. Not better necessarily, just different.

    Enjoy the holiday and definitely the yummy wine and fish!

  3. Thanks Bluebird and Catherine,

    My dad is home tonight glad to be sleeping in his own bed.

  4. Many Congrats on the pregnancy. Amazing

    And glad your dad is home. Have a great holiday.


Leave a Reply

Categories

