Posted by: irishdad | August 21, 2009

What next?

My dad is in hospital for the weekend awaiting an angiogram on Monday. His heartbeat has been irregular for the last 18 months ago so together with his doctor they are trying to get his heart drugs stabilised – a process that has been making slow but I think steady progress. Now however he has some secondary flutters that are making him very ill at ease, so he went in yesterday afternoon (after cancelling a holiday in Portugal) …and now needs to wait until Monday until some tests are run.

I’m happy that he’s not at any great risk and is doing the right thing by taking precautions so hopefully he’ll get the all clear on Monday and will be sent home.

My contract in work is up shortly. My boss told me today he’s not sure yet that they will be in a position to renew it. Two pieces of business need to come in over the next ten days, otherwise there’s a good chance I’ll be spending more time with the family!

Thankfully I can afford to be without work for a while but I just don’t have the mental stamina to go out searching for work in the current environment. If I do lose this job that will be the second time in the last 18 months, and the third time in the last few years. In one sense job loss can’t touch me compared to all the other shit that has happened, but like I say, I’d find it hard to summon the energy to throw myself into a job campaign in a market where hundreds of people apply for jobs in fast food joints.

There have been better weeks. At least it’s Friday and I can have a nice glass of wine. (Leitz Eins zwei Dry Riesling if you must ask.) Bon Soir.

Responses

  1. “In one sense job loss can’t touch me compared to all the other shit that has happened, but like I say, I’d find it hard to summon the energy to throw myself into a job campaign in a market where hundreds of people apply for jobs in fast food joints”

    I completely understand you here – I have been unemployed since July and the job search is exhausting. I think that all of this time home alone with nothing to do is really starting to get to me though.

    I hope everything turns out ok for your dad. I also hope you were able to enjoy at least some of the weekend…

    • Hey Bluebird,

      Thanks. Yes, being without a job can be very tough psychologically. It seems like the whole world is passing you by, and given your loss I’d say it can feel like you/ we are doubly invisible. Time goes funny too as days drag and crawl on the one hand, yet the weeks slip through your fingers on the other. All I can say is that unemployment isn’t personal and you/ we have to try and keep the “I’m not worthy” type thoughts at bay.

      I was in to see my dad this morning, he’s in good spirits and feeling fine. Hopefully he’ll get tested tomorrow and checked out.

      Finally, the weather was decent enough for once so we did have a nice day yesterday – taking Littleboy to a petting zoo that had a ball pool!

      I hope you are keeping well and you land a great job TOMORROW!

  2. Thinking good thoughts for your Dad and your family….


Leave a Reply

Categories

